Crikey, transcription is slow work when you’re not a pro

I did the last minute of this interview and it took for ev-ah (starting at 13:36):

Interviewer: Do you believe in God?

Russell Brand: Yes

I'm really surprised. Do you have any –have you always believed in him? Do you worship? Do you go to church? What do you do?

I–I pray and I meditate and I try to align my desires with things that are less selfish and it's an ongoing struggle because of the egotism and the needs in me and stuff but I'm just trying to be a better person

What do you think we should aim for then?

I think that we should try to examine the things that we are using to make us happy. This pursuit of celebrity, of wealth, of status, this consuming of products, this ignorance towards ecological and economical matters and try, and aspire, to something more beautiful, something more truthful and honestly I'm not a like a, as you must have noticed, a politician or a theologian but–

No, you're not the Messiah either but–

One would hope not–but perhaps if we were all in tune with more beautiful things we wouldn't prioritize such peculiar peculiar ideas and notions, perhaps if we can popularize, through the techniques of branding and consumerism a different idea a different narrative perhaps the world could change. After all it changes constantly and incessantly it's just that the perceptions that we have are governed by people with self-interest that are not in alignment with the health and safety of us as individuals or as a planet

Blimey–Russell Brand thanks for–

That's the end of my interview?

It is, is that enough?

Haha–there's so many more things to be said, we've barely started on the film, we've not done any offensive language [going through the paperwork]

Leave a Reply

