private hand gestures

Not what it sounds like! This blog primarily is my place to catalogue findings and half-baked thoughts vaguely related to movement and education (which frequently include communication and new media). I searched "dance" on Vimeo and these two videos had a feature in common that I find…curious. I don't know if there's a word for it but I'm calling it "private hand gestures"–that particular way of having emphatic energetic hand movements that don't really move to the arm. They…stay in one's personal space. You've seen them at raves in the 90s. I guess the contemporary "version" includes this sort of hip-hop-looking "storytelling"? Both had a "guy walking along the arm" sequence and a few other features in common. I hadn't seen anything like that since the ravery of my youth (I went to….two? in North America. In Holland it was altogether different. FAMILIES attended! Très different vibe).

I'll be honest, I haven't watched either of these videos to their end, but what say you of those funny hand gestures (one day I'll figure out how to edit a video enough to provide a more succinct clip. Until then, apologies)? I'm sure there's a word for it, I just don't know what it is.
Leave a Reply

