Stop Supporting Rape Culture

IMG_0646 (2), originally uploaded by IHTSBIH.

I got a bit excited that “The Recession-Proof Graduate” is ushering in a new entrepreneurial movement, and I started to poke around about Charlie Hoehn’s charmed life. If someone can be so insightful and methodical about pursuing the Dream Job…what is that job? Turns out part of it includes touring with the movie “I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell” to 31 cities (including Toronto, incidentally). The show is sold out. I can only assume that’s in part because of Charlie’s successful marketing proposals. Who knows. But here I am, trying to get inspired about job-hunting, just returned from the Middle East and feeling like, “Hmm, are Western values objectionable? Are they dominant/omnipresent? Do we have a culture that is respectful to women? What societal structures exist to make it easier to live a noble loving life?” Then I find a brilliant and creative person doing inspiring work, encouraging his fellow man to reach for the stars, to strive for the Life You Always Wanted…and that Life includes getting audiences psyched about an epic drunk journey…I dunno. I don’t want to say I’m sad. I don’t want to say I feel pity or that I’m somehow looking down my nose at this. This is a reality of Western culture. We own this. Rape culture isn’t cooked up by a few frat boys–it’s everywhere. But they really be blamed? They’re more sheep than the sheep. How do we really raise consciousness about this–I can’t help feeling that placards aren’t the best way to start the conversation.

2 Responses to “Stop Supporting Rape Culture”

  1. charhoehn@gmail.com Says:

    Hey Jaya,

    I understand where you’re coming from, and can definitely appreciate it if you think my message is somewhat tainted by my involvement with the movie tour. Working on IHTSBIH is just one of many things I’ve done, and I did it primarily to gain a unique experience (traveling the country while marketing an indie movie) and to learn how to edit video at a professional level. It’s unfortunate that the issue of rape got attached to the movie in the press, and I wish we could have disassociated from that aspect entirely. At any rate, I wanted to stop in and let you know that you’ve been heard, and I appreciate the kind words : )

    – Charlie

Leave a Reply

