Others were traumatized

Well, I got back yesterday (and I *hope * my bags got back today! Crossed fingers). I’m in Kemptville, Ontario for Canadian Yearly Meeting and have spoken already to someone who did a delegation to Gaza, Hebron and Jerusalem with American Friends Service Committee two years ago. “How are you?” she asked meaningfully, and I had to confess, “I’m fine.”
“Really?”
“Yep.”
I feel like I did “Middle East: Lite.” The experiences I was expecting: culture shock, mild to severe emotional trauma, anger at the injustice, and an urgent need to encourage my fellow countrymen to “Get up! Stand up!” are absent. I was exposed to a privileged diplomatic, ecumenical and inter-faith environment under the auspices of a dialogue. Did dialogue transpire? Yes, at night, in the last two days, on the bus. Were relationships cultivated? Yes. BIG YES. So I feel I’ve had a teaser. I’ve had a low-impact trip to the Middle East and a high-impact encounter with new people. The dialogue continues. The dialogue has just begun.

Leave a comment