Yawn. Artists are moody?

Lately I have been wondering at the permission we give to artists to be more “off the wall”–I mean, really, do we? And then, is there real reason to? Yes, instability is a negative stereotype of the artist, but then how do I know so many musicians and actors who seem to live on the edge of…emotional experimentation? I know, it’s a tired topic. I loathe, “why can’t you just be normal?” but I also cringe at, “she’s that way because she’s artsy.” Is this a discomfort with stereotype or a discomfort with truth?

Leave a Reply

