Zhang Jigan and hiding behind one person

Choreographer Zhang Jigang is doing choreography for the Beijing Olympics–he’s my friend’s fiancé’s father and it seemed remote but when I saw Spielberg withdrew from his involvement with the Beijing Olympics I wanted to know a bit more about him (proves all press is good press, huh). The piece is quite beautiful. I had almost written off anything that was implicitly political…but now I wonder–what isn’t?
Tangent: The whole hide-behind-one person thing has been the gag of Feist and several other pieces I’ve seen recently. How easily we’re bought with a trompe d’oeil!

Leave a Reply

